1898, September 26 – Letter from Ernest Rodgers to friend Lewis Hesse

Lewis received a letter from friend & former co-worker Ernest, describing work & other co-workers at the Steel Works Club in Joliett, Illinois.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Joliet Sept – 26 – 98

Mr. Lewis Hesse

I rec your letter Friday.  I was glad to hear from you but I thought you had forgot Joliet & us St L. jules (??) well we are getting along as well as could be expected.  I guess  you have been so busy going down on Soulard is the reason you did not have tie to ans my letter.  Mrs. Keyes said to tell you we are all waiting for an invitation to the weeding.  I hope to be at home when it comes off.  Well I am on the same job..old Jake ahs your job.  I have had trouble with Davie several times.  I offered to fight him 2 times but he would not fight so he does not trouble me much.  When I offered to fight he sent a big report in to the office about it.  & O asked V for my time but he would not give it to me.  We are expecting the spike machine allmost hourly it was to be here yesterday the 25th but it is not here yet.  I was in Chicgo Sat. & Sunday a week ago stayed over sat night.  Kisner (??) is working there we had a good time.  My girl is back from her trip she is visiting in Coffee Ill at present.  I am glad you have a good job stick to it.  I expect to quit here the last of Oct & go to school I will be in St Louis a week or 10 days.  I have told V but he does not want me to quit.  but i need a rest.  And when I am off I will go to school.  I will call to see you when I come home.  Vs brother was here all summer but has gone to school. he had a job drafting here in the office 100 per month.  I hope this will find you well.  You ought to see the hired girl we have now she is French.

Your Friend Ernest Rodgers

1602 Collins St Joliet

Leave a Reply

