1898, June 2 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to fiance Lewis Hesse

Rosalie looks forward to seeing Lewis on Sunday morning & jokes that their friends will expect them to marry quickly.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2      Letter Page 3     Letter Page 4

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, June 2, 1898

Dearest Lewis: –

Your letter fo the 31, just received and read with pleasure, I won’t write a long letter dear as I have very little time to spare, see?  I will tell you about myself & how I spent these last days when I see you Sunday; don’t that sound nice dear.  All my folks now seem very glad to know that you will be with us Sunday.  And dearest we will have supper at Jennie’s Sunday evening.  Jennie & Will are particularly glad you are coming back.  But dear there is one thing that will be comical, you know I told you in some of  my letters how most every one would ask hwere is Lu?  & when are you going to be married?  Well I never thinking but what you’d make your home up there for good and that you would not come to St. Louis until you came to get me, I told them that you were in Joliet and that when you’d come back we’d get married.  I bet when they see you and see tha tyou stay, they’ll have us married long before we can think of it.  Well dear I want to do some sewing up at J’s this evening and it is now 8 o’clock.  Well dear over the water till Sunday morning.  I would meet you at the Station but I think I won’t have the time, mabye I will, but if you don’t see me right Never mind dear, I can’t meet you at the Station see Lulu?  I’ll tell you why when I see you.  Well take the very best care of yourself on your way home you hear?  Good night dear till Sunday morning I remain

Your own true

Rosalie

Only 3 more days dear.  xx kisses when I see you – Dody

Leave a Reply

