1898, July 13 – Letter from Ernest Rodgers to friend Lewis Hesse

Ernest writes to Lewis about possibly buying their own blacksmith shop.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1-2      Letter Page 3      Letter Page 4 

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Joliet 7.13.98

Mr. Lewis Hesse

I rec yer letter a few days ago I was glad you readed Soulard St OK.  but I feared you had wandered off some other place well things are pretty much on the bum at present.  I may quit any time things do not suit me Woodruff has quit & gone to Birmingham Alabama the girl at the house quit the next day after you left.  Tell Miss Bowens I thank her very much for the information she gave me.  I wish you would look around & see if you can find a good palce for a Blacksmith shop & let me know what part you will run it for I want to go to school next winter & I would like to have a income to help me along I think that would be a good chanc for both of us If you know of a good shop that you can buy cheap see what it will cost & may be we can fix up some thing that we can be our own boss.  Vs brother is here he is working in drawing room the one from Toledo.  I almost had a scrap with David twice since you left he is working against me all he can.  Lougue has gone to Ralphs to board I have bought Kisers wheel let me know how business is in St. L.  I expect Ted Smith will be in E. St. L. Sunday to see his girl he will go friday night if you see him do not say any thing as to what I write as he tells V. every thing he knows I am well at present.

E. B. Rodgers

1602 Collins St Joliet Ill

Leave a Reply

