1894, May 5 – Letter from George Hesse to brother Lewis Hesse

George writes Lewis from Baltimore & explains he will be travelling between Baltimore & London.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Balto 5/5/94

Dear Bro: –

I recieved your most wellcome letter 5/2/94 and was glad to hear that all was well at home.  You must not be surprised at anything now-adays for what I do for I am likly to go to Africa before the summer is over.  I thought Mamie was nurse in some hospital, she wrote to me and she said she was, or was it you who told me?  I forget.  Say Lew what is Clarance Vandergrift’s address?  so if I want to write to Mamie I can.  I am glad Lulu is all right again and I suppose she went to Proctors?  I want you to ask Carl what his address is for I may want to write to him too see?  Well next Tuesday I leave Balto. for London again so you see I don’t have much time to run around in don’t you?  Now I will tell you how, when & where I will write.  I will write twice in London and once in Baltimore, every trip I make and If I stay more than 1 week in Balto I will write twice.  and now you must write to me in London as well as in Balto. and when you write to me to London address George Hesse 66 Lemen St Whitechaple.  London, E. and put a $.05 stamp on it.  Now answer this letter and send your to London.  Well Good-Bye and give my love to all and ask Papa to write to me in London Too.

From Your Loving

Bro George

P.S. Write upon the envelope when you write to London “Leave until called for” like this (see scan for drawing)

Leave a Reply

