1898, April 14 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie councils Lewis on his job & expresses concern over it’s steadiness & the honesty of his boss.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, Apr. 14, 1898

Dearest Lewis: –

Your letter of the 13, just received.  I will answer it right away.  Now Lewis dear, you certainly must know what is best for you in the line of work, and I don’t want to influence you one way or the other, for I don’t understand much about men’s working affairs you certainly know best, but one thing I want to tell you and I am sure you will see the sense in it.  find out, if when you get the good work you have in view it will be steady or not.  And not that it’s a job you can earn good money at while you work but that you must look forward to a lay off every now and then.  For you see dear it would be anything but pleasant to become in need in a strange place with no friends or relatives to turn to, and surrounded by strangers.  You see dear an unsteady job you could get in this city just as well.  Now Lewis as I told you before you must know what is best for you, but you must use good fore-seeing, common sense in pushing it along.  I wish I could be with you and tell you this instead of writin git, it would not sounds so medlesome.  But then you see Lulu, you are taking care of my interests as well as your own, and naturally I feel a little anxious once in a while.  Lewis you say in this letter that that change all around in the mill will take place in to or 3 months, and about a month or more ago you said it was to occur in about 2 months from then.  that seems to have no definite ring and is somewhat uncertain, don’t you think so dear?  Are you sure R.S. & yourself are the chosen few that is in G.Ws. scheme? Perhaps many more new in the mill think just as you do dear.  You see in the first part of your letter you said they all thought G’s new machines would be daisies, so that shows most all knows about them anyway.  And they will all be looking for No 1, take my word for it Lusy.  Well Lu I did not feel very well to-day and I wanted to finish this letter early so I could go to bed.  But when I was half through Dan and some more boys came and I had to stop in the midst of it, and finish when they went.  Well it is now going lively on to 12 o’clock again, so I must say good night dear.  I am much obliged for that dry goods box of goodies you sent, and take in return my very best love and lots of kisses.  Good night dear – your own Rosalie.

Leave a Reply

