1898, April 1 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Irish Dan is still showing up a lot and flirting with Rosalie, reviews the pictures she got from George Hesse & giggles about the April Fool’s letters they sent to each other.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2      Letter Page 3     Letter Page 4

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, Apr. 1, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

Your welcome letter of the 31st received and read, I will now answer.  Now dear tell me what is the reason of you getting those terrible headaches so often?  You must take care of yourself, for if you don’t, you may get good and sick, and Lu dear you must not get sick for your Rosalie.  George H’s letter is very interesting indeed.  I will tell you more about him later.  You ask if I wouldn’t like to get a dozen letters a day from you; Well I should say so, and why not?  isn’t a letter now and then just all I have of you?  But Lewis dear, I’d exchange 3 letters for as many hours in your company and talk with you.  Yes dear I am just longing to have a good long talk with Lewis Hesse, do you believe me?  “Talk to me Lu.”  Great Scott, you ask me how Irish Dan is getting along.  Well I’ll tell you.  It is now half past 10 o’clock, and he has just left, but I am bound to answer your letter if it takes me till midnight.  He came this evening while we were at supper and I went to the dress-makers with Jennie when we came back at half past 8, Dan was still there.  I told them I had to answer a letter to you, but he wouldn’t take the hint, but kept on talking to me, even if I did try to write a few lines now and then.  Well finally I gave it up, for Myrtle was putting out her little arms to come to me, and I took her and she fell asleep in my arms while I was talking.  Jennie went home then, but there was no go in Dan.  Well he finally said if I had an album he was going to give me one of his pictures, as he was having some taken, well Lu I was dumbfounded, for we hadn’t mentioned pictures at all.  Well he finally went home saying he’d be up again to-morrow evening to show us the proofs of the pictures.  But I won’t be home very much to-morrow evening as I am going to the market with Jennie to pick out a buggy for Myrtle.  When I am down at aunt Mame’s we talk about anything that comes along, family affairs, etc.  she asks me every time I come there how you are getting along and so does Frank.  But Frank always asks when I’m going to get married, I answer as best I can, that’s all.  All they say about Chicago is that the folks up there are all prospering and etc.  Oh, little Myrtle is so sweet, I do wish you could see her, I wonder if she would like you half as well as she does me.  When I got her she won’t go to no one except her mamma, she’s so cute.  The stories Julie told me u were not about Ott so much as they were about herself in regards to Ott.  And they were not so bad; only had I known they were stories I would not have written that letter, and consequently saved me the trouble I got into.  I would have advised her otherwise.  You did mention about George V’s roommate bringing a son of his to look at the room next to yours, but by the sounds of your letter at the time it led me to believe that he was not suited and did not take it; and when in your last letter you suddenly wrote about a Smith staying there I didn’t at once think of George V’s room-mate, and consequently thought I hadn’t heard of him before.  Lewis dear, the war seems very close so I read in the paper this evening have taken off every bit of woodwork in order to clear for action and things look very serious in Washington.  You may say don’t worry, but Lu, I can’t look at it as you do.  Well Lu I will now tell you about myself since Tuesday evening.  When I came home Wednesday evening there was two packages for me, 1 from George H. and the other from Mr. Cook of Chicago.  George’s package contained 2 pictures one is of half the crew in their Sunday clothes and on the other they are in working clothes, on the one G. looks sloppy and on the other nobby, but both are good pictures of him.  The pictures are so large that they would look find framed.  They are about 9 or 10 in by 11 or 12, I would like to send them to you, but, then I can’t spare the stamps I haven’t so much cash as you say you seem to have.  Well I answered G’s letter.  and read half of Mr. Cook’s letter that came with another little day book, and after I had read my little new book for the first time and said my prayers I went to bed and slept well.  Thursday was a passible day at work, and in the evening I went to Mamie Pullen’s and went with Frances Miller to their dress-maker.  I am getting my new dress made swell Lewis, but I’d take another time as much interest in it if you were here, honest I would.  But gee whis, Lu, the whole dress will cost me almost $11.   But it will be a good one.  Well to-day went by alright, and I am feeling passibly well here lately only my side-pain bothers me now and then.  Well dearest old darling take care of yourself and don’t get sick for goodness sake, I’m so far away.  Well Lulu, it is now 12 o’clock and consequently I will have to go to bed, so good night you own dear boy, pray for me as I will for you, don’t get sick.  You didn’t tell me how you knew so much about those girl’s affairs in Joliet you bad boy did you.  well see that you do next time.  From your guess who, – I don’t catch on about what’s the catch about?  I was not the only one fooled with a letter was I.  I knew what it was before I opened it did you?  Good night dear from your own true Rosalie.

From your own sweetheart Dody.

You say I should give the love of yours that I don’t want to all my folks, well Lewis dear, I’m afraid they will have to do without any.  A kiss from your Dody.

Leave a Reply

