1898, March 18 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie writes of a debt that is not hers & the upcoming wedding of a friend.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4     Apple Seeds

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, March 18, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

I just received and read your most welcome letter, and I am going to answer right away.  I am not very much better off in regard to the blues Lu, for no matter where I turn or look it all helps to only give them worse to me;  although I promise you, I try hard to get rid of them.  I’m not feeling as well as I’d like to either these last 2 days.  You ask if I intend to pay that $5.25.  Well Lu, I did not make those debts, and therefore, don’t intend to have anything to do with them.  And even if I wanted to pay them, I couldn’t; for I have all I can do to pay what I now owe and get what I will need, in case I’d ever marry.  Jennie & Willie intend to move Monday or Tuesday.  You think you are smart in laughing because I had to pay extra postage on your last letter, you need not send short letters in order to save my stamps Lewis, for I know how to get even in that line, you’ll find it out too when the post master asks you for extra charges, see?  I got my watch about 3 wks after you left, but I don’t use it much, although it is in running order.  I heard nothing of Simmons Hardware so far, if I had, I certainly would have let you know.  Why did you ask me about that Lu?  Now Lu, you bad boy if you intend to treatme that way, if you had the chance, I won’t ever let you come near me again, for although I have a little life left in me, I don’t want to part with it by having it crushed out and only having a bag of broken bones left.  I’ll have to begin to think you are more cruel than a Spaniard, nice prospects that; don’t  you think so?  Now I’ll tell you about myself.  Wednesday evening I went to bed and tried hard to sleep, that is after the boys friends went away, but somehow I just can’t get to sleep until it is very late here lately.  Thursday I did not feel very well at work.  In the evening I was home about half hour when Joe S. call and asked me to be at the church on Ellen Ave. near Dolman St. at from half past 7 to 8 o’clock next Thursday evening (24th) in order to see her married.  She asked me to her wedding most cordially, but of course I don’t go, I’ll go to the church though.  I wanted to take her just a block or two when she went home, but instead, I took her home, and then Will & her took me almost home at about 9 o’clock.  That couple is very happy.  They have there rooms picked, they are on 18 and Ann Ave, very fine rooms.  Well I slept passibly well Thursday night, but I had the blues all day today.  Well I send  you herein Georges picture, he looks well, don’t he?  I’d fall in love with his looks if I did not know him so well.  Well I will stop now as I want to do several little necessities before I go to bed, such as straighten my drawer and see what I want tomorrow if I go shopping.  So good night dear.  Just 1 doz kisses from your

ever true

Rosalie

Where do these apple seeds come from, you bad boy?

Leave a Reply

