1898, March 16 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie sends Lewis a letter she received from his brother George Hesse, who is currently serving with the Navy in the Spanish American War & stationed in Cuba.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, March 16, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

I guess you are a little bit surprised at the contents of this letter, are you not?  Well Lewis I received George’s letter this evening, it is now half past 8 o’clock and I have an answer written and mailed to George.  I wrote him a nice 4 paged letter, he will have nothing to complain of when he reads it.  You see Lewis, I think this way, there is no person so bad, but what there is a good spot in him, and if that is touched it might be the making of him.  So Lewis write to him right away.  Of course I wouldn’t give him a chance ever to do me a dirty trick, for one knows him; but dearest to give a kind encouraging word here and there to help one along, that’s what anyone should do see?  I herein send you, envelope and all, George’s letter, so you can read for  yourself, but I want you to return it.  You must write to him right away dear you hear, I promised him you would.  Lewis, he sent me his photograph and I tell you it’s fine.  I would tell you more about it, but I want you to be surprised as I was.  I’ll send it to you in a day or two, but you must sent that back also, for I want it for my album.  Well darling I am tired and must stop writing.  I didn’t get to sleep till way late last night and worked hard to-day.  My scholar didn’t come to-night, and I am thankful for it.  Well dearest write to me soon adn don’t forget to return G’s letter.  Well Lulu, good night, be good to yourself and pray for me.  I remain, you dear old darling sonny, your always true and loving Rosalie

kiss –

One response to “1898, March 16 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

  1. Pingback: 1898, March 18 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse | Our Wonderful Family History·

Leave a Reply

