1898, March 9 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie shares stories about giving guitar lessons, being lonesome & missing Lewis.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4-5     Letter Page 6

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, March 9, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

I just finished reading your letter and Club Bulletin.  I was glad to receive this letter for somehow I wasn’t in a very fine humor from your unfinished Sunday letter, I – oh I don’t know what, I’m easily discouraged I guess; Well let u s drop that, I was anyway very glad to receive your last letter.  I am now going to answer it.  I am real glad to hear that you are feeling well again, and I do hope your hard headaches will give you a rest at least so long until it is made possible for me to be with you, I am sure if I take care of you, you won’t have so many headaches dear.  Well now as to your new friend Mr. Rogers, give him my very best regards in return and say that I hope his visit to East St. Louis and elsewhere will be a pleasant one.  I wish I had met this gentleman friend of yours before, for then I guess he wouldn’t mind giveing me a friendly call and telling me all about how you were doing over there see.  that is when he coes in my neighborhood;  tell him if he cared to, step in when he came here he’d be real wellcome, (that is with your permission) but I won’t be home except Sunday any time after half past 10 or 11 o’clock in the morning, after that I shall be home all day and evening.  I also wish you had a chance like Rogers, but never mind dear.  Lewis, you never said one word in your letter of how you liked to goods for my new dress, or whether you liked it at all.  Well I must stop now and give Edd’s friend another lesson on the guitar.  So good bye for an hour or so. Well dear, here I am again, and it is half past 9 o’clock, my scholar is doing well, this was his third lesson.  You see, Eddie bought a guitar for $1.00 and 6 lessons from this young man, and i made Eddie a present of the 6 lessons to this young man, for his birthday so you see I am making him a nice present without spending one cent; pretty good scheme don’t you think so?  Tuesday evening I crocheyed all evening, and went to bed about 10 o’clock I felt well all day today, and here I am this evening sitting in the arm chair at the center table writing.  Edd & Jack are over at J’s house.  Ott & Willie came over after my guitar and I know they are having lots of fun, but I stayed home to give that lesson on Edd’s guitar and to write to you dear.  Well Lewis it is after 10 now and I am heartily tired, so I guess I’ll close my letter for this time.  So over the water dear, I’ll pray for you, and don’t you forget me either.  Take good care of yourself and let no harm happen to you, well dearest it is such a nice evening that I guess I’ll take you to the front hall door, but I promise you I won’t let you go home so early.  Well enough of this.  good night darling write soon again, good night Lewis (1/2 dozen kisses) I remain

Your very own true

Rosalie see?

Good night schnaderfratz or sonny.  Please excuse paper I have no other and want to save my coin.  Wrote with pencil because this paper don’t take ink

Your Dody

Leave a Reply

