1898, March 26 – Letter from Lewis Hesse to Mr. Vandergriff

Lewis writes to his friend on Steel Works Club stationary to a friend abotu the lack of available employment.  There were two letters in this envelope; you can read the other one here.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Joliet Ill 3/26/98

Friend Mm; –

I received your letter about 3 weeks ago & the reason I didn’t write to you before sooner this, is because I was in hopes of finding employment for you,, but am sorry to say I can not give you any encouragement so far.  Horse shoeing here is very dull at present, but will keep my eyes open and if I find any thing, I will let you know.  I am working for the PU. (??) Steel Co and getting along all right so far, but would rather be in St. Louis than in Joliet.  Please give Mr. Roth my address so he knows where I am in case any body inquires for me.  Would like to hear from you soon.

Your Friend,

Lewis Hesse

Address

Lewis Hesse

1602 Collins St.

Joliet Ill.

One response to “1898, March 26 – Letter from Lewis Hesse to Mr. Vandergriff

  1. Pingback: 1898, February 26 – Letter from W. Albrecht to Lewis Hesse | Our Wonderful Family History·

Leave a Reply

