1898, March 1 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4-5     Letter Page 5-6

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, March 1, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

When I got home this evening there was a dear little mysterious package waiting for me over which the whole family was curious.  Well I managed to get my hat and coat off somehow and then I tried to find out what was on the inside of that mysterious package, but I had such a time opening it.  You had it all pasted together string and all.  I finally managed to open it, and there was a little white box the only thing ailing it was that the 4 corners of the lid were split.  When I opened the lid and saw the pale blue cotton and pushed that aside and saw the dear little pen, I didn’t know what to say, I only wish you had been here to receive the kiss of appreciation I now send you, well you may claim it in reality when you see me again.  yes dearest Lewis I think a great deal of this dear little pen already, although I only have it in my possession about an hour, I guess that is because it comes from you dear.  I keep turning the pretty little pen round and round watch the light as it shines on the handle, all the while wishing you were with me.  Well dearest I’m so much obliged for the dear token of remembrance.  I am writing this letter with the pen, but the ink is old and dusty therefore the writing isn’t extra; but I’ll get some other and then write you a nice letter, see?  I was just a little disappointed that there was not one word of writing come with the package.  You see your Sunday letter was a good deal shorter than usual, and I thought you might have written a little Monday morning.  Now Lu dear don’t get to be a bad boy, hear me?  I may be troublesome, but Lu, I’m so lonesome.  Well last night I slept well adn I spent a passible day at work.  We worked in the cold almost half a day again, and consequently I coughed a good deal more.  Do you know darling, that a pen has a sharp point and some people say it breaks friendship?  Well I don’t believe in such as that, but I will send you a cent anyway to break the charm see?  Lewis do you care for your Rosalie as uch as you did when you were with me?  Answer me honestly Lewis, for some how, I don’t know just why, I feel as though you don’t.  Beg your pardon dear if I am mistaken, it may be I feel that way because i’m so lonely sometimes.  Well Lewis, I must stop writing now for I get the blues very easily and I don’t want them if I can help it.  So with best love and lots of kisses I remain your own

Rosalie

All the folks send their good wishes and very best regards.

Dody

Don’t think me foolish Lewis I didn’t want to waste paper and it affords me some amusement (see letter for drawings)

Your Dody

Leave a Reply

