1898, Feburary 6 – Letter & note from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie is still not feeling well, but is more concerned about how Lewis is feeling.  She included a little Forget-Me-Not note along with this letter.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4-5      Letter Page 6     Note Front     Note Back

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis, Feb. 6, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

It is now 15 min. after 2 o’clock Sunday afternoon.  I would not write until I could answer a letter from you.  but I’m awful anxious about you.  Your last letter that arrived here Thursday morning and that I received and answered in the morning, said that you had not been feeling comfortable since Monday evening and it was a short letter that led me to believe you were feeling anything but good.  Since then I didn’t hear a word from you and Lewis dear I do hope you are not good and sick.  Lewis you don’t know how I feel about you, do let me know soon how you are feeling.  Take care of yourself for heaven’s sake.  Well I’ll tell you about myself now, from Friday morning until now, Friday passed much as usual.  toward evening, I got a slight fever and the headache, but after supper they both left.  I read my little book said my prayers and went to bed.  Saturday morning I woke up with the headache and I felt anything but well all day.  At 4 o’clock in the afternoon I went with Enid to Vengents and made several purchases, and got so tired, although I didn’t stay down town any longer than an hour, that I got sick.  I spent a miserable Saturday evening, I had a headache, and felt so weak.  honest, I could hardly get around.  Then I was anxious because I didn’t know how you were.  Lewis dear, I’m far from well, it just seems as though I can’t get well.  But you see dear, I don’t want this to discourage you, I am bracing up as good as I can.  This morning I slept till about 8 o’clock and got up about 10:30, ate breakfast and just got washed and combed when Julie came.  She answered an add in the paper that brought her in our neighborhood, and she stepped in.  She dreamed of you the other evening, she said you asked her to do some shopping for you, she should get some shoe strings, shoe plish, several other things, and 3 bottles of Wise beer.  I don’t know if I spelt that beer right, but you know what I mean.  Well Julie also got a letter from May.  But it said nothing about you.  May & the baby both have the rash and Guss is just getting over a broken leg.  She wants Julie to come down there in Spring.  Well Julie went home about 1 o’clock and Jennie and the baby came over, Willie works this afternoon.  All the folks are reading and I am writing  Lewis dear I have an awful cough, but I hope I will soon get rid of it.  Lewis dear I always ask Got to keep you good and healthy when I pray, so if you don’t feel just any of the best, don’t give way.  Lewis do let me know soon how you are feeling and geting along.  it seems to me to-day as though it were an age since I heard of you last.  And gracious these last two weeks seem like months to me.  Oh, I must stop now or I won’t be any good for the rest of the day.  I am not feeling extra either.  Well darling, we’ll hope for the best, do our best, and leave the rest, won’t we?  Things won’t always be this way, will they?  Say Lewis, do you think you’ll always keep night work?  Well I must stop now dear, till next time I do hope I’ll get a letter tomorrow.  With best love and a kiss and very best wishes I remain,

Your own

Rosalie

The folks send best wishes and regards

Leave a Reply

