1898, January 28 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

Rosalie is excited to receive another letter & writes to Lewis about her weight & spending their lives together.  She also includes some newspaper clippings & a second letter that you can read here.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2      Letter Page 3 

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

St. Louis Jan 28, 1898

Dearest Lewis:

I was just about to go out of the door and mail a letter to you when the mail man knocks and almost frightens the life out of me, well he hands me another letter from you dear, I was so tickeled I wanted to take a home made fit.  Well I am going to send you the letter I intended to mai then, in with this one.  If you have no time to read the clippings I sned you, you can save them and read them on Sunday.  Julie just came a little while ago and is plyaing the guitar and I can hardly keep my mind down to my writing.  Julie & I went to the store and got weighed, but Lewis dearest, ha, ha, I only weigh 100 even with the heaviest clohtes I have in the house on.  if I allowed for some of the clothes I guess I’d weigh about 96 lbs.  gracious I’m so thin.  If I stood on an open lot with a pretty stiff SW wind, it wouldn’t cost me a cent to go to Joliet.  Look here smaterfratz, you said I had sloppy fat on my big bones, you sausy thing, the idea, sloppy fat, big bones, gee whis, if my flesh or fat was sloppy I’m glad I’m rid of it.  although to be as thin as I am now it hurts ones bones no matter how one lays.  Well I am feeling so much better today that I have hopes of soon being able to be around in good shape again.  Well Lewis don’t forget to take the very best care of yourself you know how.  I thank you very much for your birthday congratulation, and hope with you that the next 24-25 yrs. yes and even a good while longer may be spent with you dear.  Well Lewis be good to yourself and don’t forget your Rosalie.  A kiss for you

Your own sweatheart

Rosalie

Write whenever you get the chance dear I appreciate your letters so.  Dody.

One response to “1898, January 28 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse

  1. Pingback: 1898, January 28 – Letter from Rosalie Bauwens to Lewis Hesse with Newspaper Clippings | Our Wonderful Family History·

Leave a Reply

