1897, November 18 – Practice recommendation letter

Written on the front & back of an envelope from “The Youth’s Companion Announcement for 1898” addressed to Rosie Bauwens & an accompanying piece of paper are a practice letters requesting employment.

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Paper page 1

__________________________________________________

Transcript:

For references in regard character and to my standing.  I would refer you to these gen (??)

Mr. Glorious,

Dear Sir –

Having called at your residence, Nov 17, you will remember in regard to steady work in Simons Hardware Co., and being advised by you to send in an application for same, I hereby apply For a stead situation in your department.  Being in need of steady work, I give up any trade, which is forse shoer, and seek it under you.  If the requirements are steadiness, good will and hard work I know I will give satisfaction.  Hoping you will give me the advantage of the first vacancy in your department

I remain Resp.

St. Louis, Nove. 18, 1897

Mr. C. W. Glorious,

Dear Sir:

Having called at your residence Nov. 17, as you will remember in regard to steady work in simmons Hardware Co., and being advised by you to send in an application for the same, I hereby apply For a steady situation in your department.  Being in need of steady work I give up any trade, which is horse shoer, and seek it under you.  If the requirements are steadiness, goodwill and hard work, I know I will give satisfaction.  Hoping you will give me the advantage of the first vacancy in your department.  I remain Respectfully

Leave a Reply

