1897, July 19 – Postcard from George Hesse to brother Lewis Hesse

George writes Lewis to tell him he has been at sea but will be returning to St. Louis shortly.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Postcard Front     Postcard Back

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Balto Md. July 19/97

Dear Bro.-

I guess it is a long time between letters don’t you think so?  Well the reason I did not write was because I did not know  your address.  I have been to sea for the last 50 days and could not write I just received a letter from Otto Miller telling me your address so I thought I would write and tell you I was coming back to write and tell you I was coming back to st Louis in a bout 2 weeks.  Don’t write until you hear from me again.  With Love to all I remain

Your Bro

Geo.

Leave a Reply

