1896, August 14 – Letter from UNSURE to Rosalie Bauwens or W. L. Hesse

An unknown relative recounts a severe storm & her upcoming trip to Henry Renfrow’s house for a few days.  I’m not sure if this one is missing a page or not, but there is no signature & the last portion of the letter is written on the back of two business cards.  The letter was addressed to Rosalie, but in an envelope addressed to W. S. Hesse.  Also included is a personal calling card for Lewis.  The writing in this letter is SOOO small!  It was very difficult to read, take a look at the pics.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2      Letter on back of biz card 1-2      Business & personal cards 1-3

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Formosa, Ill., Aug. 14/96

Rosalie!

How are you all getting along?  All right I hope.  How is the weather there?  I guess its the same as usual ?? and warm.  We have had right nice weather here for a while and had stormy weather too Wednesday morning Mr. Ogle & I had just come back from mailing that letter to you & bringing the ?? back from the Station when a very strongest 7 lasted the longest of any storm that has ever come to this part of the country it was nearly noon when it came.  I was up stairs changing my baths.  when i heard some one say there was a storm comming I looked out the window & saw the black & yellow clouds coming toward us with lightning speed.  I closed the windows up stairs & came down in time to catch the whole storme, I tell you the wind blew it blew the trees so hard that the tops would rest on the ground.  This strong and lasted about 1 hour, then it slacked up some, but still blew very hard for 2 hours longer, followed by any amount of rain, but it all passed over toward evening, the rain changed the program here.  they were to have thrashing here Wednesday evening, but now they will have to wait untill it gets dry again, if it don’t rain any more they may be able to thrash Monday or Tuesday then every one in the house will have ore than they want to look after.  The nights & mornings here are out of sight ??  I sleep fine & feel fresh in the morning Wednesday I stayed in the house all afternoon.  when night came I went to bed & stayed there untill 6 oclocl Thursday morning – after breakfast I went out too the field where they were plowing & stayed theare an hour or two when I come back I had a slight head ache which pained me more & more all ofthe time untill I could hardly stand it.  I layed around the house all day trying to get rid of it for we were all going to dinner in the evening But I stayed at home with Mr. and Mrs. Ogle & went to bed early too sleep away my troubles.  I woke up at 6 oclock in the morning feeling fine, no more headacche for me.  so all that day (Friday) I felt fine after breakfast I took a ramble for about an hour, came back & started to reading, I did not stop untill Mr. O came back from Farmosa where he had gone for mail. then we had diner after diner I took a light gun & went out to the pond the first thing I shot was a big snake that was in the pond, after that I shot frogs & crows untill evening.  I went to bed at 8 oclock & up at this morning at 6:30 oclock had breakfast & then sat down to write to you & that is where I am now, Mammie is going to Formosa as soon as she can, she is waiting to take this letter to the P.O. for me We are going to Harry Renfrows house for a few days as soon as mammie comes back from the O.O it is about a miles for them off.  I guess I will have a better time there for there are 4 boys there while there is only one & he is working all the time so we don’t get out much.

Leave a Reply

