1894, August 25 – Letter from George Hesse to brother Lewis Hesse

George wants to join the navy & asks Lewis to send him his clothes & some other personal items.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Baltimore, Md 8/25/94

Dear Bro:-

I received your postal at Grafton and was glad to hear from you that all was well at home.  I am now in Balto and I intend to join the Navy at Washington as soon as I can.  Lewis will you send my clothes to me to Baltimore? When you send them don’t forget to send that Safty Razor if you can find it will you?  I will now tell you what to send me. My suit and white shirt and some under-wear & a pair of sox and don’t forget to send my palm & needles that I got while I was working at Pullman’s for they might stand me in good stead if I join the Navy.  & send along one of these little tin tobacco boxes of threat and needles and a few buttons and if possible send that razor for I will need it bad.  That is about all I can think of unless Mamie can think of some thing else.  You need not send those old shoes I came home in for I will not need them.  As soon as I join I will send the clothes back for I will have no more use for them then.  Please send right away for I will have to look good or else I can’t join send a letter and tell me when you start them.  The best Express Co to send them by is the Adams Express Co. Address like this

George Hesse

Baltimore Md

Address the letter to the Baltimore Post Office for Bill Hill has moved from St Charles St.  Lewis will you pay for them on that end?  for if you don’t I won’t be able to get them here.  Give my love to all and send immediatly

Your loving Bro

George

Leave a Reply

