1894, August 10 – Letter from Lulu Hesse to brother Lewis Hesse

Lulu writes Lewis to tell him of Carl’s birthday and how lonely she is without hearing from home lately.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

Columbia, Ill

Aug. 10th

Dear brother:-

To-day is Carl’s birthday.  I did not write because Theodore only went to town once since papa was here and I expected a letter from home is the reason I did not write them.  Well I have to go and Iron so this letter will be short too.  Last thursday Lulu and I and theodore and the Baby spent the day at Aunt Em’s house.  I guess you will stop work today; papa said you would and so I want you to write right off for I want to here from home and tell me just what all of you folks are doing.  I don’t know when I can come home for papa said I can’t come home till Mammie is at work all day, and I know that will be a good long time; I get so lonesome out here some times I don’t know what to do with myself.  so I want you all to write soon to keep my company when you write always sned me a stamp as the men do not like to be boethered in buying stamps and puting them on an envelope; I will tell you another time write soon; Do all you can for papa  With love to all I will close.  wel I see theodore just going out the side gate so my letter is to late and I will have to wait till tomorrow to get it off.

Your loving sister

Lulu Hesse

The paper said the morning strain will begin and run sunday morning, 12th.

PS If George is at home try and get him away he is worrying papa so much.

 

Leave a Reply

