1876, August 27 – Letter from Mamie Muldner to brother Lewis Hesse

Mamie recounts a heavy storm that wrecked havok on the town and how she is preparing to leave.  Read a transcript of the letter below (original misspellings & all) or click on the image links to view the actual letter. As you read the transcript of the letter click on the links to view information & images about what they are discussing.

________________________________________________

Click on a link to view the image: (some images can be further enlarged by clicking on them once they open)

Envelope Front     Envelope Back      Letter Page 1      Letter Page 2-3      Letter Page 4

__________________________________________________

Transcript of letter:

At. Hatti Gaskills (??)

August 27th, 1876

My Dear Brother,

I thought I would drop you a few lines to let you know that all are well and happie now.  I am well I ?? sick the day you wen thome and was sick for 3 days but am all right now.  how is Rose give her my love and tell her I am realy haveing to much to do that I do not know if I can find time to write to her are not but will try.  I will have to write the rest of the letter with a pencle as the pen is to bad & can not make it work, we had a dreadfull wind storm last Saturday after noon in Formosa it tore up trees by the roots and carried of all of the fences ?? the most of them.  Lee was out in the field and his head got so full of water he could not hear much for 2 days but is all right the horses were not hurt much. a few windows brokern.  all of Ogles went in the cellar and the kichen window fell out as Maud was going down stairs and hit her on the head but did not hurt her much Mr Ogle went down first then Maud then Dollie then Peter they all had a good scare.  I was at Nellie Gaskills and as soon as I saw the clouds I said close up the house and we just did get it closed in time all went into the dinning room as the wid come from that side and nothing would fall on us it tock all most all the shngles off of the roof at Nellis but no one was hurt.  all are living to tell the tale you can send for me at any time now.  I will make my last visit Saturday I will go to Kigs in Troy.  and then I will he ready to go home address all your letters to Formosa in Dollie’s care and Im sure to get them.  I just now thought I do not know how to spell Rosie last name so I do not think I can write to her i know her address is 1041 Soulard St. but that is all I know.  I hope to here from you soon give my love to all that love me tell Lulu that Hattie wants her right that she must send it too as her Father gave it to her and she does not want to lose it

Your Loving Sister

Mamie

Leave a Reply

